Skip to Content
Kutak Rock is pleased to announce that 66 of its attorneys are included in the 25th edition of The Best Lawyers in America©. The 2019 Edition is based on more than 7.8 million evaluations and recognizes nearly 60,000 attorneys in 145 practice areas.

The firm's recognized attorneys span numerous practice areas across eight states where Kutak Rock has offices: Arkansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Colorado, Virginia, Minnesota, Arizona and Washington, DC.

The 66 Kutak Rock attorneys included in The Best Lawyers in America 2019 are:



Timothy C. Nash – Public Finance Law

Mark E. Lasee – Real Estate Law

Marc R. Lieberman – Real Estate Law

Arik J. Michelson – Real Estate Law

Mark R. Nethers – Real Estate Law


Little Rock

Jess L. Askew III – Appellate Practice; Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Communications Law; First Amendment Law; Media Law

Randal B. Frazier* – Banking and Finance Law; Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law; Land Use and Zoning Law; Litigation-Banking and Finance; Real Estate Law

James M. Gary – Employment Law-Management; Labor Law-Management; Litigation-Labor and Employment

H. Watt Gregory III* – Corporate Compliance Law; Corporate Governance Law; Corporate Law; Financial Services Regulation Law; Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law; Securities/Capital Markets

Law; Securities Regulation; Securitization and Structured Finance Law; Venture Capital Law

James E. Hathaway III – Public Finance Law

David A. Smith – Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships); Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Tax Law; Trusts and Estates

Edward T. Oglesby* – Commercial Litigation; Construction Law; Litigation-Insurance; Litigation-Construction

Gordon M. Wilbourn – Municipal Law; Public Finance Law

Teresa M. Wineland – Commercial Litigation; Personal Injury Litigation-Defendants


Russell C. Atchley – Commercial Litigation; Litigation-Construction

J.R. Carroll – Product Liability Litigation-Defendants

Mark W. Dossett – Litigation-Insurance; Medical Malpractice Law-Defendants

Rayburn W. Green – Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Bryan G. Looney – Health Care Law

Debby Thetford Nye – Health Care Law



Robert D. Irvin – Public Finance Law

Michael R. Johnson – Public Finance Law

Ellen K. O’Brien – Real Estate Law

Thomas M. Peltz – Public Finance Law

Lee F. Sachnoff – Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Kenneth K. Skogg – Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law



David L. Amsden – Public Finance Law

Gregory R. Crochet – Employment Law-Management



Stephen C. Rosholt – Public Finance Law


Kansas City

Jack T. Bangert – Product Liability Litigation-Defendants; Product Liability Litigation-Plaintiffs John T. Coghlan – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law

Edward Marquette – Copyright Law; Litigation-Intellectual Property; Technology Law; Trademark Law

G. Mark Sappington – Health Care Law


James E. Meadows – Appellate Practice; Litigation-Real Estate

Dan R. Nelson – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law

Joseph Reid – Litigation-Health Care; Medical Malpractice Law-Defendants; Product Liability Litigation-Defendants

Michael D. Textor – Construction Law; Litigation-Construction; Real Estate Law

Randell D. Wallace* – Banking and Finance Law; Corporate Law; Land Use and Zoning Law; Real Estate Law



P. Brian Bartels – Litigation-ERISA

Tory M. Bishop – Litigation-ERISA

Victoria H. Buter – Commercial Litigation

Michael K. Bydalek – Information Technology Law; Technology Law

Robert L. Cohen – Health Care Law

Michael L. Curry – Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Thomas H. Dahlk – Commercial Litigation; Litigation-Mergers & Acquisitions; Litigation-Regulatory Enforcement SEC, Telecom, Energy); Litigation-Securities

Michael S. Degan – Commercial Litigation

Joyce A. Dixon – Banking and Finance Law; Corporate Law; Real Estate Law

H. Dale Dixon III – Banking and Finance Law

Jeremy T. Fitzpatrick* – Construction Law

Patrick B. Griffin – Commercial Litigation; Litigation-Securities

Howard Fredrick Hahn – Nonprofit/Charities Law; Tax Law

Bryan G. Handlos – Banking and Finance Law

Thomas J. Kenny – Criminal Defense: White Collar

Bartholomew L. McLeay – Commercial Litigation

Michael G. Mullin* – Arbitration; Insurance Law; Mediation; Personal Injury Litigation-Defendants

John P. Passarelli – Bet-the-Company Litigation; Franchise Law; Litigation-Antitrust; Litigation-Intellectual Property; Litigation-Patent

Patricia Schuett Peterson – Public Finance Law

John E. Schembari – Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law; Litigation-ERISA

Robert M. Slovek – Commercial Litigation

Patrick C. Stephenson – Trademark Law

James M. Sulentic – Trademark Law

Jeffrey T. Wegner* – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation-Banking and Finance; Litigation-Bankruptcy



Peter J. Barrett – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation-Banking and Finance; Litigation-Bankruptcy

Michael A. Condyles – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation-Bankruptcy

Loc Pfeiffer – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation-Bankruptcy

Washington, DC

Mitchell J. Bragin – Public Finance Law

*These attorneys were recognized as Best Lawyers 2019 “Lawyers of the Year” in their respective practice areas and locations.

To contact one of the Kutak Rock attorneys in Best Lawyers, please refer to the right-hand column of this page.

About Best Lawyers

Best Lawyers is the oldest and most respected attorney ranking service in the world. For more than 30 years, Best Lawyers has assisted those in need of legal services to identify the attorneys best qualified to represent them in distant jurisdictions or unfamiliar specialties. Best Lawyers lists are published in leading local, regional, and national publications across the globe.